William Dunbar Medal


The William Dunbar Medal is awarded in recognition of an outstanding contribution in applied technical development in the field of sewage and waste treatment and disposal. This Award, donated by IFAT, the international trade fair for water, sewage, refuse, and recycling, which is organised by the Messe München International, has been adopted by the European Water Association.

The medal is awarded every two years to an individual of a member country of the EWA and is presented by the President of the EWA. The Dunbar Medal Award was originally handed over during the gala dinner of the opening ceremony of IFAT. Now it is awarded in a formal setting biannually on the eve of the Brussels Conference.

The award consists of a certificate and a gold medal, which bears the portrait of William Dunbar on one side, and on the other the logos of the EWA and IFAT.

Awardee 2023

Professor Hallvard Ødegaard

Professor Hallvard Ødegaard, a highly respected figure in the water sector and professor emeritus, has been awarded the prestigious Dunbar Medal 2023 for his remarkable contributions to the field of water engineering and research. With groundbreaking innovations in water treatment and an extensive body of work spanning over decades, Professor Ødegaard's expertise has revolutionized the industry.

He received the Dunbar Medal at a prestigious ceremony in Vienna on October 19th, 2023, during the ÖWAV/EWA Joint Conference: Water Resources subject to Climate Change Challenges in managing Extremes. You can look at the pictures of the ceremony and learn more about the conference here


You can read more about his achievements in our press release. 

Award winners

Year Award Winner Country
2023 Professor Hallvard Ødegaard NO
2021 Professor Jörg E. Drewes DE
2019 Prof. Emeritus Jean Berlamont BE
2017 Prof. Dr. Milenko Roš SI
2015 Prof. László Somlyódy HU
2013 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl-Heinz Rosenwinkel DE
2012 Philippe Duchène FR
2010 Prof. OBE, PHD, FCIWEM, CWEM, CEnv Peter Matthews UK
2008 Prof. Jiri Wanner, MSc, PhD, DSc CZ
2005 o. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. techn. Helmut Kroiss AT
2002 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rolf Kayser DE
1999 Prof. Mogens Henze DK
1996 Prof. Dr.-Ing.E.h. Klaus R. Imhoff DE
1993 Geoffrey Ashworth Truesdale UK
1990 em. o. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Franz Pöpel DE
1987 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wilhelm von der Emde AT
1984 Herbert A. Hawkes UK
1981 Prof. Dr. sc. nat. E.A. Thomas CH
1978 Dr. Ir. Aale Pasveer NL
1975 Dr. A.L. Downing UK

Go back