In order to optimize our website for you and to be able to continuously improve it, we use cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.

Further information on cookies can be found in our privacy policy

William Dunbar Medal


The William Dunbar Medal is awarded in recognition of an outstanding contribution in applied technical development in the field of sewage and waste treatment and disposal. This Award, donated by IFAT, the international trade fair for water, sewage, refuse, and recycling, which is organised by the Messe München International, has been adopted by the European Water Association.

The medal was awarded every three years, now is awarded every two years to an individual of a member country of the EWA and is presented by the President of the EWA. The Dunbar Medal Award was originally handed over during the gala dinner of the opening ceremony of IFAT. Now it is awarded in a formal setting biannually on the eve of the Brussels Conference.

The award consists of a gold medal plus cash amounting to a total value of € 5,000. The medal bears the portrait of William Dunbar on one side, and on the other the logos of the EWA and IFAT.

Award winners

Year Award Winner Country
1975 Dr. A.L. Downing UK
1978 Dr. Ir. Aale Pasveer NL
1981 Prof. Dr. sc. nat. E.A. Thomas CH
1984 Herbert A. Hawkes UK
1987 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wilhelm von der Emde AT
1990 em. o. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Franz Pöpel DE
1993 Geoffrey Ashworth Truesdale UK
1996 Prof. Dr.-Ing.E.h. Klaus R. Imhoff DE
1999 Prof. Mogens Henze DK
2002 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rolf Kayser DE
2005 o. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. techn. Helmut Kroiss AT
2008 Prof. Jiri Wanner, MSc, PhD, DSc CZ
2010 Prof. OBE, PHD, FCIWEM, CWEM, CEnv Peter Matthews UK
2012 Philippe Duchène FR
2013 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl-Heinz Rosenwinkel DE
2015 Prof. László Somlyódy HU
2017 Prof. Dr. Milenko Roš SI

Go back